Dickey running for state chairman: What this means for the Travis GOP


UPDATE (6/3/17): James wins, 32-31! Resigns as county chairman.

As many of you know, our County Chairman, James Dickey, is pursuing nomination by the State Republican Executive Committee to the Chairmanship of the Republican Party of Texas.

The State Chairman's race began in earnest about two weeks ago when Tom Mechler decided to step down citing personal reasons (see The Travis Tracker for background). Since then, two candidates have emerged: Dickey of Lakeway as well as Rick Figueroa of Brenham.

Read more

We're bigger than that!


UPDATE: James Dickey has returned to his position as Travis County Republican Party Chairman! 

Our party resources are secure. 

There are more checks and balances in place. 

There are more people involved in the leadership process.

Enthusiasm for the Travis GOP is at a high point.

Our "Bigger Than That" initiative helped turn things around when the international media was ready to dig our grave following the March 1, 2016 Primary! The grassroots leaders of the Travis GOP valiantly stood strongly together against all odds, kept the county party fully functional, and brought back order well-before the General Election. Read more below about the rebuilding of our party finances and our reputation with the community. It's quite a turnaround story.

Read more