Biggest night of the year for Central Texas conservatives coming up June 27

Join us for #ReaganGala 2019 Thursday, June 27, at Austin's own Hotel VanZandt.

Speakers include: former presidential contender and union-busting Wisconsin Gov. Scott Walker, Texas Supreme Court Chief Justice and constitutional defender Nathan Hecht, taxpayer champion Congressman Chip Roy, and also Texas Sen. Dawn Buckingham and Railroad Commissioner Wayne Christian.

Featuring silent auction, participatory events, great food, and so much more! It promised to be an evening in Austin's unique Rainey Street District you'll never forget.

RSVP and complete details:

Gov. Scott Walker to headline Reagan Gala '19

More info coming soon! Tickets now on sale at

Activist Training for all conservatives wanting to make an impact in 2020

If you're a grassroots activist, a future or current candidate, an organization leader, or just a keyboard warrior, this training is for you!

Any Republican or conservative interested in taking things to the next level as we enter the 2020 election cycle may reserve their seat for this rare opportunity.

Please contact Travis GOP HQ if you're interested in attending (especially if you're a candidate wanting to run in 2020). See below for a message from one of the organizers ...

Read more

Familiar face to join Travis GOP as new Executive Director

If you recognize our newly hired Executive Director, it's because you may have served with him recently.

Brian Ruddle, the Political Trainer for the Greg Abbott re-election campaign in 2018, oversaw many of our Abbott University sessions and block walks as we went door-to-door supporting Republican candidates up and down the ballot.

Spencer Davis, our previous Executive Director, is headed a few floors away from Travis GOP HQ for another effort to be announced soon, so we'll continue to work with him as well.

Read more in our press release here.





Help wanted for the May 4, 2019 local elections

UPDATE: all positions filled, and many with some good local Republicans. Thank you!

Election Judges, Alternate Judges, and Clerks are wanted for the May 4 election! Can you help?

While the news media is already focussed on the 2020 presidential election, we cannot overlook our LOCAL elections. The next one is scheduled for Saturday, May 4, 2019 (with early voting beginning the day after Easter, April 22 and ending April 30).

Since it is a non-partisan election, Travis GOP may not automatically place workers, but the Travis County Elections Division usually works with us to place our workers (yes, you do get paid!). If you'd like to help please let us know.

Below is an update on this year's elections from the Travis County Clerk's office:

Read more

Give taxpayers the power to tap brakes on runaway property taxes!

Families and businesses continually being run out of Austin by high property tax burdens is a major concern for Travis County Republicans, who are now firmly standing with state legislative leaders to empower the taxpayers.

If passed by the Texas Legislature this session, House Bill 2 would require voter approval for local property tax hikes that represent a 2.5 percent increase.

"Property taxes in Travis County are unsustainable, and Travis County voters deserve more tools to protect themselves from the runaway taxes and spending of local government," a resolution passed unanimously on Tuesday said. "... the Travis County Republican Party encourages all legislators to support a 2.5 percent rollback trigger and resist efforts to raise that trigger or otherwise make it easier to raise property taxes."

Plank 162 of the Texas Republican platform supports the concept of a rollback trigger election.

The resolution and others passed this year may be read at

For our press release see

Congressman Roger Williams to kick off 2019 Chairman's Circle events

Join us Monday, April 22, from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m., for this exclusive event! Learn more below ...

Dear Travis County Republican supporter,

In 2018 we launched the Chairman’s Circle, our sustaining donor program. In our first year, we held the following events:

Read more

Become a Voter Deputy Registrar

Image result for clipboard door

What's a Voter Deputy Registrar (or VDR for short), and why is that any different than just handing someone a voter application?

Becoming a VDR allows you to officially accept those applications (cut out the middle-man), assist those with disabilities in filling out or updating the forms, and other perks that allow you to easily process a large number of voter registrations. 

A major part of our strategy this year will be in registering new GOP voters. About 100 people move to the Austin area each day, so let's make sure each and every conservative is registered to vote!

A special Voter Deputy Registrar (VDR) Training is set to take place prior to our February Executive Committee meeting on Tuesday, Feb. 19 from 6 to 7 p.m. at Central Christian Church's fellowship hall. 

UPDATE: Other events hosted by Travis County are throughout the year. Check our Events calendar for other opportunities as announced.


Spencer Davis appointed new Travis GOP Executive Director

Spencer Davis, who has served recently as Data Director for the Republican Party of Texas and with the Pete Flores Texas Senate campaign, was appointed by Chairman Matt Mackowiak as Executive Director. 

Spencer succeeds Gary Teal, who spent two years as Executive Director and Treasurer of the Travis GOP. 

Read more about the transition in our press releases section:

Read more

Join our email list

Are you signed up for our Travis GOP email updates? 

We send on average about 3 messages per week, and we do not share your contact information with outside vendors. 

By signing up you'll receive:

  • Election updates for national, state, and local elections. 
  • Special event notifications
  • Our long-running weekly roundup of conservative happenings in the Austin area "Week at-a-Glance"
  • Timely action alerts and communiques from Chairman Matt Mackowiak
  • Invitations to meet elected officials and well-known public speakers
  • And so much more!

    Click here to sign up today!